Pakistan Telecommunications Authority (PTA) has managed to process 7,862 URLs for blocking in pursuance of the complaints and proactive search regarding fake/defamatory/impersonation online content. The 37th meeting of the Standing Committee on Interior was held under the Chairmanship of Raja Khurram Shahzad Nawaz, MNA, in the Committee Room of NADRA Headquarters, Islamabad.

The representative of the Pakistan Telecommunications Authority (PTA) briefed the Committee regarding the procedure of complaint handling, action taken regarding fake/defamatory/impersonation online content, complaint of Sher Akber Khan, MNA, and control of cybercrimes and fake ID issues.

He informed that in pursuance of the complaints and proactive search, PTA has managed to process 7,862 URLs for blocking. Moreover, complaints pertaining to fake accounts of the dignitaries/parliamentarians/political personalities are processed on priority. platforms, i.e. Facebook and Twitter have been requested to put in place proper strict mechanisms so that the users are not able to easily create accounts until certain verification.

The Bill titled “The Criminal Law (Amendment) Bill, 2021 (Government Bill)” was presented before the Committee and after detailed discussion, the Committee recommended that the Bill may be passed by the National Assembly. “The Islamabad Capital Development Authority (Amendment) Bill, 2021” (Government Bill) was presented before the Committee, and the Committee decided that the Bill may be passed by the National Assembly.

The Committee considered the Bill titled “The Islamabad Rent Restriction (Amendment) Bill, 2020 (Section 11) (moved by Ms. Nusrat Wahid, MNA)” and recommended that the Bill may be passed by the National Assembly. The Committee examined the bill titled “The Pakistan Penal Code (Amendment) Bill, 2020 (Section 377C) (moved by Ms. Uzma Riaz, MNA)” and recommended that the Bill may not be passed by the National Assembly. The Bill titled “The Prohibition of Kite Flying Bill, 2021” (moved by Mr. James Iqbal, MNA) was presented before the Committee, the Committee decided to defer the Bill till its next meeting.

The problems faced by residents of the National Police Foundation O-9 Housing Society, Islamabad, were discussed, and the Committee directed the Ministry of Interior to finalize the inquiry, on account of irregularities against the society and to submit their report accordingly. The Member Engineering CDA briefed the Committee on the development status of the Park Enclave 1, 2, and 3. The Committee directed the CDA to submit a report regarding the total number of plots, amount collected and spent on the Park Enclave Phase I.

The Starred Question on Farash Town, raised by Muhammad Aslam Khan, was discussed by the Committee. The CDA informed that plots in Farash Town were allotted to the dwellers of Katchi abadis in the Model Urban Shelter Project.

The Committee directed CDA to issue ownership letters to all genuine allottees after necessary verification and submit a report to the Committee.

The Lt Commandant Frontier Constabulary (FC) briefed the Committee about the functions, performance, expenditure, and issues of FC. He informed that the FC works under the control of the Federal Government. The Federal Government is empowered to deploy FC in any part of Pakistan for better protection and administration of those areas. FC has its Corps Headquarters (CHQ) located in Peshawar, it is headed by Commandant FC (CFC), who is assisted by two Deputy Commandants (DCs FC).

The district is the basic unit of an operational hierarchy of FC, there are seventeen districts in total known by the names of FC Districts. Each district is headed by a District Officer (DO), commonly known as DO FC who is an officer of the rank of BS-19 or BS-18.

The Committee directed the Ministry to resolve the issues of FC relating to salaries, Shuhada compensation, allowances, and operational activities.

Members/MNAs/Movers Sher Akber Khan, Mehar Ghulam Muhammad Lali, Nafeesa Inayatullah Khan Khattak, Malik Sohail Khan, Rana Shamim Ahmed Khan, Nadeem Abbas, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Syed Agha Rafiullah, Nawab Muhammad Yousaf Talpur, Mr. Abdul Qadir Patel, Ms. Uzma Riaz, , Ms. Nusrat Wahid, Mr. Muhammad Aslam Khan, Dr. Mahreen Razzaq Bhutto and the senior officers from the Ministry of Interior, Ministry of Law and Justice, NADRA, Capital Development Authority, FIA, PTA, ICT, National Police Foundation, Frontier Constabulary attended the meeting.